Karola Theill

VITA.

Prof. Karola Theill

»Exemplary is the beautiful iridescence of the piano pieces that Theill plays with great joy at the promise of self-absorption in normal everyday: music at the blue hour.«

As one of the few female pianists specializing in song interpretation, Karola Theill has made her name as a performer, teacher and university lecturer.

She appears in concert throughout Germany and abroad (f.e. Musikverein Wien, Opéra de Bastille, Paris) as well as in Israel, the USA and China.

She has been the collaborate partner of singers including Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Benjamin Bruns, Okka von der Damerau, Angela Denoke, Matthias Goerne, Klaus Häger, Christine Lichtenberg, Fionnuala McCarthy, Thomas Mohr, Martina Rüping, Simon Wallfisch, Nadine Weissmann and others.

Born in Cologne, Karola Theill was trained as a pianist at the music academies of Hamburg and Berlin. She attended song courses given by Aribert Reimann, and for several years was the accompanist for Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau’s song-interpretation classes.

She was awarded a fellowship to study at the Indiana University, School of Music in Bloomington. Another important artistic influence has been her close collaboration with the pianist Shoshana Cohen in Jerusalem.

Karola Theill teaches at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin, where she is an honorary professor, and conducts a song-interpretation class at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Rostock.

In addition she gives regular masterclasses in song interpretation in Berlin, at the Sankt Goar International Music Festival and Academy (Germany), at the Music Academies in Poznan and Warsaw (Poland), Riga (Latvia), Castelfranco and Alessandria (Italy), Jerusalem (Israel), Los Angeles (USA) and Hang Zhou (China).

Her activities are documented in radio recordings and on numerous CDs.

Vita Karola Theill – download (TXT-file UTF-8)

Karola Theill

VITA.

Prof. Karola Theill

»Exemplarisch das schöne Schillern der Klavierstücke, die Theill mit großer Freude an der Verheißung von Selbstversenkung im ganz normalen Alltag spielt: Musik zur blauen Stunde.«

Karola Theill hat sich als eine der wenigen Frauen im Fach Liedgestaltung als Pianistin und Dozentin einen Namen gemacht.

Sie konzertiert über Deutschland hinaus im europäischen Ausland (u.a. Musikverein Wien, Opéra de Bastille, Paris), in Israel, den USA und in China.

Karola Theill war bzw. ist Liedpianistin von Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Benjamin Bruns, Okka von der Damerau, Angela Denoke, Matthias Goerne, Klaus Häger, Christine Lichtenberg, Fionnuala McCarthy, Thomas Mohr, Martina Rüping, Simon Wallfisch, Nadine Weissmann u. a.

Zur Pianistin ausgebildet wurde die gebürtige Kölnerin an den Hochschulen in Hamburg und Berlin. Sie besuchte Liedkurse bei Aribert Reimann und war mehrere Jahre Liedpianistin im Unterricht von Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau.

Mit einem Jahresstipendium ging sie an die Indiana University, School of Music in Bloomington, USA. Besonders prägend ist seit dem Studium die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit der Pianistin Shoshana Cohen in Jerusalem.

Karola Theill unterrichtet als Honorarprofessorin an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin und leitet eine Liedklasse an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Rostock.

Zudem gibt sie regelmässig Meisterkurse für Liedgestaltung in Berlin, Rostock, an der Sankt Goar International Music Festival and Academy sowie an den Hochschulen und Akademien in Poznan und Warschau (Polen), Riga (Lettland), Castelfranco und Alessandria (Italien), Jerusalem (Israel), Los Angeles (USA) und Hang Zhou (China).

Rundfunkaufnahmen und zahlreiche CD-Produktionen dokumentieren ihre Tätigkeit.

Vita Karola Theill – Download (TXT-Datei UTF-8)